Muna DeCiman

Executive Council Workers of Colour VP & Chair of Committee - memunatou.d@sasktel.net

Terms of Reference

To find out more about the purpose and structure of the Workers of Colour Committee, download the
Terms of Reference 

The Workers of Colour Caucus was founded upon the desire to recognize the changing demographics in our province.  The committee’s goal is to embrace this change through organizing, educating and empowering workers of colour to fully participate within our union.

Each year, workers of colour have a caucus meeting at the Saskatchewan Federation of Labour convention to encourage new members to get involved. The caucus also provides a safe place for members’ to discuss concerns and issues.  We work to bring awareness to racial profiling, discriminatory legislation, and economic disparity. 

We fight racism and promote the human rights and equality rights of racialized workers. We also work to end discrimination on the basis of sexual orientation and gender identity.  Racial equity is a goal we all strive for.

Resources:

Canadian Labour Congress:  http://canadianlabour.ca/issues-research/issues/racialized-workers

Black History Month:  https://www.canada.ca/en/canadian-heritage/campaigns/black-history-month.html

Ramadan:  http://www.islamicfoundation.ca/ramadan.aspx

Migrant Workers:  http://canadianlabour.ca/support-migrant-workers

Asian Heritage Month: http://canadianlabour.ca/news/news-archive/asian-heritage-month-time-celebrate-and-remember

African Heritage Month:  http://canadianlabour.ca/news/news-archive/february-african-heritage-month

Temporary Foreign Workers:   http://canadianlabour.ca/issues-research/issues/temporary-foreign-workers

 

 

 

 

Saskatchewan's Labour Movement: the folks who brought you the constitutional right to strike!